Eastern

Tofuku-ji Temple – Head Temple of Rinzai Sect

Highlight
A scene from the treasure hall where many ancient paintings and writings are on display

Treasures that have survived repeated fires to reach us today

This temple was founded by the imperial advisor Michiie Kujo, who opened it as his family temple in 1236, spending 19 years building Tofuku-ji, to create the biggest temple in Kyoto. However, over the ensuing century, in 1319, 1334 and 1336, most of the halls were burned down in blazes. It was fully restored in 1346, becoming the largest Zen temple in Kyoto. Nevertheless, several of the halls were burnt down again in 1881 and have been restored one by one during the 20th century.
Yet, through all of this adversity, the temple still boasts the oldest sanmon, or triple main gate, (National Treasure) in Japan as well as the Zendo (meditation hall) and Yokushitsu (bathing room) that have survived since early in the 14th century and are both Important Cultural Properties. The Komyo Hoden is home to more than 5,000 cultural assets related to Tofuku-ji and its sub temples. These include a painting of the Chinese monk Wuzhun Shifan (National Treasure) and the statue of Amida Nyorai (Important Cultural Property). And, this treasure hall is opened for a special exhibition on varied occasions.

photoSeated statue of Amida Nyorai (Important Cultural Property)

Seated statue of Amida Nyorai (Important Cultural Property)

photoMain hall

Main hall

photo
Address 778 Honmachi 15 chome, Higashiyama-ku
TEL 075-561-0087
FAX 075-533-0621
URL http://www.tofukuji.jp
Hours Apr-late Oct: 9:00-16:00 (gate closes at 16:30), Nov-early Dec: 8:30-16:00 (gate closes at 16:30), Early Dec-late Mar: 9:00-15:30 (gate closes at 16:00)
Closed None
Adm Tsuten bridge, founding hall/Honbo garden: Adults ¥400, Elementary and junior high school students ¥300 ※Komyo Hoden only open to public in spring (late Apr-early May), and is charged separately
Access An 8-min walk from Keihan Toba-kaido Stn/A 10-min walk from JR and Keihan Tofukuji Stn/A 10-min walk from Tofukuji Stop of City Bus
Parking Available (Free) but not available during special viewing period in autumn

Facilities near by

photo:Kyoto Handicraft Center

Kyoto Handicraft Center

The addictive world of Japanese traditional crafts

photo:Hosomi Museum

Hosomi Museum

Visitors can enjoy art themed on the changing seasons

photo:Obentobako Museum

Obentobako Museum

Lunchboxes that speak volumes about the food culture of Edo times

photo:Kyoto eastern landfill site (Ecoland Otowa-no-mori)

Kyoto eastern landfill site (Ecoland Otowa-no-mori)

error: Content is protected !!